Thread: Difference between Permanet and Kerry Broadband

Difference between Permanet and Kerry Broadband

Finally got a response from Permanet on the pricing issue. I asked them if they would price match Kerry BB for the business packages, they declined. One of the reasons stated is that permanet are licenced and KerryBB are not.

Quote Originally Posted by Permanet Account Supervisor
    Hi Jason,

Sorry I canít be more specific on the details as they are being hammered out at the moment. To answer your question on licensing, in being licensed our signal is protected by COMREG, whereas with unlicensed providers the signal is subject to outside interference.

If you have any other queries donít hesitate to let me know.
    I'm no expert so I don't know if this is an issue but it seems to me that Permanet would have had to bid for the licence therefore costs are higher.

Just thought I'd let you know like.

Would be good if KBB would like to comment on this.

ISP Representative

Licensed vs Unlicensed

I would be glad to comment.

Being a licensed operator simply reserves a part of the spectrum in order to provide a service to clients. It also has limitations as to the area which is serviced. At present the limit is 20 Km from the centre of the licensed area.
    Some licensed operators are breaching the terms of their license and servicing clients outside the 20 Km limit. This has an effect on the quality of the service provided and this is indicated on this very forum and can be seen by reading some of the threads posted regarding some of the licensed operators.